For immediate release

April 18, 2017

STEAM Horizon Awards Winners Announced!

OTTAWA, April 18, 2017 − The Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation, along with its partners, is pleased to announce the first seven winners of the STEAM Horizon Awards. This prize program celebrates the important contributions of Canada’s youth in the STEAM fields: science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics. Each youth is awarded $25 000 to go towards their post-secondary education.

This year’s winners are:

  • Aidan Aird
    Markham, Ontario

  • Marianne Drolet-Sénéchal
    Sherbrooke, Quebec

  • Jacqueline Fleisig
    Toronto, Ontario

  • Grace Ma
    Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • Kay Wu
    Scarborough, Ontario

Indigenous winners:

  • Thomas Imbeault-Nepton
    Saint-Honoré, Québec

  • Olivia Perry
    Lark Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador

Full profiles on the award winners can be found here.

Each winner will travel to Ottawa to receive their award at the National Science and Innovation Gala, to be held May 17, 2017 at the Canada Aviation and Space Museum.

Quick Facts

The STEAM Horizon Awards are made possible by a consortium of partners, including the Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation Foundation, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), Syncrude, Shopify, Indspire, Vintage Wings of Canada, VLN Advanced Technologies, Facebook, and Instagram. The awards were launched in October 2016.


Zoë Lomer
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation

Alex Maheu
Summa Strategies

Back to top